Hire My Friend: the english major who prefers Plato to Paralegal

Introducing a new weekly column in which I bribe my friends to sell themselves on this blog.

"But what is the cave allegory about anyway?"

"But what is the cave allegory about anyway?"

Name: Ian

Major: English and comparative literature (with honors… which makes the situation somehow more pathetic).

What I would have majored in 4 years ago had I known the economy was going to hell: Alchemy.
Why I decided to waste $160K on an Ivy League education: Social climbing and financial aid.
Current City of Residence: For the next two weeks, Brooklyn.
Ideal City of Residence: For the subsequent seven months, Seattle.
Current job: Triple threat: freelance essay editor/aspiring tutor/overeager applicant to Ph.D. programs in English.
Dream job: “And seek for truth in the groves of Academe.” -Horace, Epistles bk. 2, no. 2, l. 45
Resume claim to fame: I quit a paralegal job after a month, despite everything, so my situation is of my own making. (And I’ve learned that impulsive idealism only works out in Nora Ephron movies.)
Greatest achievement I don’t like to talk about in interviews: Being the first to fill out this survey. It’s sort of like that song by Morrissey.
If you would like to hire Ian, send us a pleading email.
If you would like to be featured in the weekly Hire My Friend column or know someone who would, holla.
Leave a Reply

