Why I Have A Job: the poli sci major who still nurses ambitions of helping people

Introducing another weekly column in which I coerce my employed friends into giving job advice.

She looks this cute in person too.

I swear this isn't a dating service.

Name: Lindsey

Major: Political Science and Human Rights

Current City of Residence: Brooklyn (we go hard)

What I do all day: Trying to assist low income clients that are in danger of losing their homes to foreclosure by matching them with pro bono attorneys to represent them in court.

What I would rather be doing all day: Actually helping those clients.  The banks place every possible obstacle in the way of a fair resolution –  it makes me want to hide all my money in a mattress.

Resume claim to fame: It never made the cut, but I worked at an ice cream shop for a month one summer.  I fantasized about the job as an 8 year-old and from today’s perspective, it had the best perks of any job so far.

Where I found this job: Idealist.org – though when I first applied I never heard back.  Turns out they were prioritizing candidates that could start immediately and I was not in that catagory.  It wasn’t until I attended a job fair, tracked down the HR rep, found out they were opening up interviews again, eagerly offered her my resume, then over-eagerly followed up with an email, that I got an interview.

Why they hired me as opposed to hundreds of other overqualified Ivy league grads: My boss claims that she was impressed with my cover letter, but I just think they were sick of having to interview people.

Best part about being employed: Not having to donate my eggs to pay off debt.

Worst part about being employed: “It’s 7 a.m. already?  Didn’t I just go to work yesterday?”

Heartfelt advice to your jobless friends who may have been freeloading off of you for months: If you have free time while looking for jobs, volunteering is always a great option– you’ll have a padding for your resume, experience in the field is always a plus, you can network with the people you work with about other opportunities, and your time and energy would be going to a good cause – not that rewatching this while sitting by yourself at home isn’t a good cause.

If you would like to be featured in the weekly Why I Have Job column or know someone who would, holla.

5 thoughts on “Why I Have A Job: the poli sci major who still nurses ambitions of helping people

Leave a Reply

