Why I Have a Job: the comp lit major who blogs about being unemployed*

It's meeeee!

*Well…this is awkward. For the past few months, I have been writing bitter posts about jerks with paychecks and oversharing about my own descent into unemployed purgatory. This blog has been my savior from boredom, depression, and hell, the one thing keeping my self-esteem from scuttling away every time someone asked the most dreadful question: “So what are you up to?” Last week, I was offered a full-time job. It’s still freelance (so I’m one of the millions of Americans who hope they don’t get swine flu anytime soon), but I get to work in an office and feel like a productive member of society. This sounds cliche, but I’m so excited! The name of the blog won’t change, and content will stay the same. Expect the weekly columns and daily news updates (though with fewer personal updates and overshares than before). And if you are Ivy Leagued and Unemployed – I’d still love to hear your story and feature you in the Hire My Friend column. The same goes for Why I Have a Job: we need inspiration here, people!

Name: Yelena

Major: Comparative Literature and Society (I don’t really know what that means either).

What I do all day: Writing and producing web content for one of my favorite publications.

What I would rather be doing all day: Nothing. And I mean that. You really develop a love of all things corporate and job-like (cubicle, morning alarm, wearing clothes that are not your pajamas) when that’s the one thing you’ve been denied for so long.

Where I found this job: A friend who interned with me way back when recommended me for the position. It’s true what you hear – most jobs in media aren’t even listed.

Why they hired me as opposed to hundreds of other overqualified Ivy league grads: I had over 3 years of professional experience (this is what happens when you intern more often than you go to class).

Best part about being employed: Being able to go to a restaurant with friends and not feel compelled to order the cheapest thing on the menu.

Worst part about being employed: Running on pure caffeine until I can trick my body into waking up early on its own.

Heartfelt advice to your jobless friends who may have been freeloading off of you for months: Don’t wallow. Start a blog instead. 😉 Really though, I have no idea if my employers even knew of the blog when they hired me, but it’s so important to pursue your passion when you have so much free time. And I think working on something where I was the sole writer/editor/publisher helped me gain confidence in a horribly discouraging field. And maybe that showed in my interview and edit test.

2 thoughts on “Why I Have a Job: the comp lit major who blogs about being unemployed*

  1. “Writing and producing web content for one of my favorite publications.”

    Come on, out with it, Shuster! What’s the mystery publication? This newfound coyness of yours is going to kill the stalker-voyeur demographic of your readership… I miss the days of overshare.

Leave a Reply

