Why I Have a Job: the comp lit major who used to wait tables at Bubba Gump

She is as well-versed in Foucault as she is in today's specials.

Name: Stephanie
Major: Comparative Literature and Society, which, as the editor of this blog might be able to confirm, is a certified major in Indecision.
What I do all day: I write papers, case studies, and (hopefully soon!) a blog for a software-as-service tech company. I’m the lone liberal artist amongst businesspeople and engineers.

What I would rather be doing all day:
Getting paid to travel and to write about it.  Or just traveling and writing editorials.  Or just writing about non-technical things, which I’m trying to do on the side anyway (shameless plug). But I’d need some sort of income to keep a roof over my head.
Where I found this job: On Craigslist, actually, where I also found my apartment…
Why they hired me as opposed to hundreds of other overqualified Ivy league grads: I’m not quite sure about that…it might have been that I recommended a crepe stand in Paris to the CEO of my company as I was leaving the office after my interview.  He was about to visit the city (where I’ve lived) and asked me if I knew of any place he should hit up.  Since hiring me, he’s written me several emails about how good the food was.  If you’re ever in ile-de-France, you should go as well: Au P’tit Grec, on Rue Moufftard.  It’s legendary.
Best part about being employed: Getting paid, regularly, above minimum wage.  And I kind of like getting dressed up to go to the office…?
Worst part about being employed: Sitting at my desk, staring at my computer (sometimes without speaking!) for hours on end.  I miss seeing the sun on weekdays! Oh, and only having 10 vacation days.  I haven’t fully accepted that fact yet.
Heartfelt advice to your jobless friends who may have been freeloading off of you for months: I’ve seen a lot of recent Ivy (and non-Ivy, for that matter) grads holding out for that *one* dream job in their field of choice, and I don’t think we have that luxury anymore.  Apply to anything and everything, because we’re young, and why not? Before getting this job, I was working for a catering company in the city and also waiting tables at Bubba Gump Shrimp Company.  There’s a lot to be said for getting mounds of free food on the job along with an inside look into the secret lives of starving New York actors. Also, you will find a job soon. Really!  We’re always going to need talented and educated people in this world.
If you would like to be featured in the weekly Why I Have a Job column or know someone who would, holla.
Leave a Reply

