Is the recession causing you to cling to your partner?

money marriage

All a marriage needs is flying wads of cash.

Money is an awkward thing in relationships, which is why it’s hard to believe anybody’s dating anybody in this economy. In fact, however, the opposite is true. The NYT reports that the recession has resulted in tighter bonds with your loved one (often whether you like it or not).

A spouse is more likely to depend on health care from a spouse, or on in-laws to help finance a mortgage or to assist with child care. And the ones who are hanging tight are retrenching and redeveloping an appreciation for time spent together.

All the more reason to listen to your elders and get married for the financial benefits! Alex Roberts of the Institute for American Values writes that “once the Great Recession lifts, more couples — especially lower-income couples who are in the greatest danger of missing out on marriage’s economic benefits — can take full advantage of the emotional and material benefits associated with marriage.”

But according to the WSJ, said “material benefits” can also be a cause for divorce.

Couples who report that they disagree over finances at least once a week are 30 percent more likely to divorce than couples who disagree about finances a few times a month, according to research by Jeffrey Dew, a professor of family studies at Utah State University.

And as always, the rich have it worse than anybody else if things don’t work out.

Ms. Alter represents a client who once relied on a $5 million bonus and is now struggling to cope on a salary of $500,000. The damage in those types of cases, much more frequent these days, can be a slippery slope from the financial to the psychological.

“Their self-image is destroyed,” she said. “Their marriage has gone bad, and they can’t support their lifestyle anymore. Their kids have to be taken out of private school, they have to sell the vacation home, and the money becomes a focal point.”

Those poor children! How will they ever succeed without their beloved vacation home? Now I know to never, ever, let myself get divorced married.

6 thoughts on “Is the recession causing you to cling to your partner?

  1. Pingback: Reason #468 why the recession is ruining your love life « Ivy Leagued and Unemployed

  2. Pingback: For a select few, the recession is a major turn-on | Ivy Leagued and Unemployed

  3. Pingback: Breaking: Your unemployed spouse is basically killing you | Ivy Leagued and Unemployed

  4. Nice Nice Video. I really loved your video. Youtube can be a great asset for you. If you need any help getitng your video exposed, check out this site called tubeviews [dot net] It has really done wonders for me, I have built 3 Channels up with videos at top in position and this is my forth channel i’m going toefbbbf working on.Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    • Everybody is different, of cosure. However, as an unemployed person myself, I can say that finding a job, any job, right now is extremely difficult. I live in a big city where one would think that jobs are abundant. Not the case. I have been doing temporary jobs when they are given me while searching for something permanent and full time. Let me tell you how exhausting and frustrating this has been. I am currently working a temporary job that was supposed to have the potential of turning permanent. What’s happening now is that the company I am working at is interviewing candidates for the job I am currently doing and just keeping me around until they find the right one. They refuse to hire me permanently because my man is in the military and they don’t believe me when I say we are here permanently. On top of that, they think that because the economy is bad and people are desperate for jobs they can treat the people they hire like garbage. I get sworn at and degraded by this company every single day, but I still go because I want to make money while I am looking for a job. I send at least 10 resumes a day to potential employers. I email, fax, mail, and Fed Ex these resumes to no avail. There have been jobs I have applied for that I am qualified for only to be told that they have chosen to hire from within. I have applied for survival jobs such as Walgreens, Wal-Mart, Target, McDonald’s, and various retail stores at the malls only to be told I am overqualified or that there are no openings. I have looked into delivering pizzas, only to be told that the pizza places are fully staffed with other people who have been laid off and are trying to feed their families. I have looked into working as a housekeeper for a hotel only to be told I am overqualified. I have sent resumes to four other temp agencies besides the one I currently work for. They keep looking for potential openings for me, and they get me interviews, but then the job openings become tabled. I tried to get into the tax school thing so that I can work doing taxes this season, only to be told that they will not be providing the class in my area and that they will not be hiring any new employees this season. Currently I am considering bartending school, but I don’t have the time to go right now because of the temp job I am working at, plus I cannot afford the tuition. I have looked into going back to school and learning how to do medical billing/coding, but I don’t have money for tuition and I am told I don’t qualify for financial aid because of me being single without children, plus they look at what my salary was in 2008 (before I was laid off! They don’t stop to think that perhaps that money went towards paying rent and staying alive!). My unemployment ran out two weeks ago, and I am scared to death of what is going to happen when this assignment is over (if I even knew when that was because I keep getting strung along). I am trying really hard to save as much money as I can, but things like car trouble keep popping up and there are days when I just sit down and cry. Basically, there may be people out there who are comfortable eating up the unemployment and holding out for their dream job . It’s just like there may be people out there who keep having babies so that they can continue to collect food stamps and not work. However, speaking on behalf of myself and the thousands of other people, who include family members and friends who have also lost their jobs through no fault of their own, who lose sleep every night and are being kicked out of their homes because they are experiencing the same job search dead ends that I am, the unemployment extension is a necessity. It is not our faults that we keep trying and trying and trying, while no employer wants or is in a position to give us a chance. To some degree, it is not the job seekers who are being picky. It’s the employers.My Opinion

Leave a Reply

