Why I Have A Job(s): the phi beta kapa who speaks in tween

cute girls of the ivy league

A wide-mouthed arch is usually the first step in learning how to talk like a 12-year-old.

Name: Katie

Major: English and Comp Lit

What I do all day: Depends on the day; I coach girls’ basketball at a small private school, walk dogs, and tutor.

What I would rather be doing all day: Reading, traveling, basically being a student again.

Where I found this job: I’m trying an experiment where I only apply to things I find on Craigslist this year. So far, I’ve been pretty successful.

Why they hired me as opposed to hundreds of other overqualified Ivy league grads: For these particular jobs, it’s highly likely I was the only overqualified Ivy League grad to apply. Plus, I know the difference between zone defense and man-to-man.

Best part about being employed: Spending most of my days outdoors or in the gym and wearing sweatpants everywhere (actually, pretty much the same thing as being unemployed. . . ).

Worst part about being employed: Most of my conversations happen with dogs or 12-year-old girls — not to draw comparisons.

Heartfelt advice to your jobless friends who may have been freeloading off of you for months: There’s nothing wrong with working something that has absolutely no need for your diploma. This year has been a huge challenge and an even bigger adventure. It’s given me an entirely different perspective on what I want and where I’m headed.

If you would like to be featured in the weekly Why I Have a Job column or know someone who would, holla.

2 thoughts on “Why I Have A Job(s): the phi beta kapa who speaks in tween

  1. “There’s nothing wrong with working something that has absolutely no need for your diploma. This year has been a huge challenge and an even bigger adventure.”

    Just applied for grunt work at a major food retailer…

  2. Pingback: New York Times to College Grads: Your Future Is Bleak « Ivy Leagued and Unemployed

Leave a Reply

