Hire my friend: the Spanish lit major stuck in Arizona

amber

This is the wasteland known as Arizona.

Name: Amber

Major: I graduated with High Honors in Impracticality. My specific study area? Spanish Literature. And a minor in Art History, just to round out the irrelevance. I wrote a lot of really interesting research papers, shouldn’t that count for something? I like to think that I “learned to learn.”
What I would’ve majored in 4 years ago had I known the economy was going to hell: I’m not sure majors make any difference these days…I suppose if I could’ve managed triple-majoring in Engineering, Economics and Computer Science (and therefore sacrificed everything interesting about going to college), I may be in a better position. I think of more importance: I would’ve started my job search my freshman year.
Why I decided to waste $160K $200K on an Ivy League education: It seemed like a great idea somewhere along the line. I did get to meet some really amazing people!
Current City of Residence: Phoenix, AZ
Ideal City of Residence: Somewhere on the East Coast, where I actually know people. No one moves to Phoenix after graduating from an Ivy. I’m a pretty big fan of London as well. And Madrid. Actually, I love to travel, so I think I could make it work just about anywhere.
Current job: I’m employed full-time in the exciting industry of Finding a Job. That and learning financial modeling and the latest in social media. Gotta keep improving those marketable skills.
Dream job: I’m flexible. How about you tell me what you have available, and then I’ll tell you what my dream job is. In an ideal world, I’d get paid to travel, tell people about where I traveled, write about where I traveled, and find more places I want to travel to. Being the next Rick Steves would be pretty close.
Resume claim to fame: I wish we still lived in those times when your undergraduate institution WAS your claim to fame.
Greatest achievement I don’t like to talk about on interviews: Well I can’t really afford to be modest these days. I’m competing with several million 35 year-olds who have a laundry list of industry experience and impressive MBAs that stop me from even making it to the interview.
6 thoughts on “Hire my friend: the Spanish lit major stuck in Arizona

  1. Same. Got a piece of paper that keeps me from doing what I want to do.

    Fortunately, I’ve also not had a job in, let’s just say, recent memory, the deterioration of which I am enthusiastically cheering on; and, since I don’t have a job or any chance of finding my way back onto the safe route that ends in financial solvency, I think I’m just going to try to shoot the moon doing whatever I feel like.

    What did you want to be when you were seven? Now, have you got any reason not to try to wring money out of that?

  2. Pingback: New York Times to College Grads: Your Future Is Bleak « Ivy Leagued and Unemployed

  3. What a depressing blog. A cautionary tale to high tail your behine to actually live your dreams. I don’t understand what is so hard about marketing yourself as a travel blogger and getting paid to be a lifestyle traveller. Obviously in Ivy they don’t teach you how to be creative once you research. How hard is it to move to the east coast? The job market isn’t that bad. I should be a career counselor. Traditional education isn’t cutting it for you guys and gals.

Leave a Reply

