Why I Have A Job: the history major who would rather be backpacking through Europe

He hopes his Columbia sweatshirt accrues value...just like his loans.

Name: Adam

Major: History

What I do all day: Edit and produce YESNetwork.com, SNY.tv, TigerWoods.com (I didn’t know, I swear!), and MLB.com, while writing a YES blog and doing Oscars commentary.

What I would rather be doing all day: Adventuring through Europe would be nice, maybe with the girl of my dreams, a portable Netflix subscription, and access to sports.  And writing novels.

Where I found this job: I had friends who worked there.

Why they hired me as opposed to hundreds of other overqualified Ivy league grads: Because of my friends.  You pretty much have to be an internal hire these days.

Best part about being employed: Not having to roll your eyes when someone asks the inevitable, “What do you do?” question while expecting something phenomenal because you graduated from the ancient eight.

Worst part about being employed: I’d love to watch more movies.

Heartfelt advice to your jobless friends who may have been freeloading off of you for months: Don’t get discouraged. I really can’t stress this enough.  It’s absolutely not your fault that you’re not employed in this economy, and don’t listen to anyone else who tells you otherwise.  Find some really exciting, creative project to work on that gives you satisfaction and makes you feel productive.  Think of all the people who despise their jobs.  This could be your one chance to do the things you REALLY love.  Someday, you’ll sit back and laugh off this once-trying period of your life.  As Dumas says, “All of human wisdom is contained in two words: wait and hope.” (Apologies to any comp lit majors who prefer other translations).

One thought on “Why I Have A Job: the history major who would rather be backpacking through Europe

Leave a Reply

